Exploration Icons Honored at the 9th Leif Erikson Awards

In a celestial celebration of human ingenuity and exploration, the 9th Leif Erikson Awards have crowned their laureates, underscoring remarkable contributions to space exploration and scientific achievement. Húsavík’s Exploration Museum annually bestows these accolades upon those who have etched their names in the annals of exploration.

The coveted Leif Erikson Award, the apex of the evening, finds its home in the hands of astronaut Bill Anders. Renowned for his iconic photograph, “Earthrise,” captured during NASA’s Apollo 8 mission to the Moon in 1968, Anders immortalized our planet rising over the lunar horizon. Beyond his lunar endeavors, Anders’ connection with Iceland adds a special resonance to the honor. Having lived there during military service and participated in two Apollo geology field trips to the captivating landscapes, Anders carried an Icelandic coin to the Moon, symbolizing his enduring bond with the island nation.

The Leif Erikson Young Explorer Award recognizes Kellie Gerardi, an aerospace professional and science communicator, who recently soared to new heights aboard Virgin Galactic’s VSS Unity. Her groundbreaking work in bioastronautics research and spacesuit evaluation, coupled with her dedication to inspiring the next generation, embodies the spirit of exploration.

Engineer and author Libby Jackson secures the Leif Erikson Exploration History Award for her invaluable efforts in preserving the history of female astronauts. Her book, “Galaxy Girls,” delves into the stories of 50 trailblazing women who have shaped space exploration, marking a crucial contribution to the ongoing narrative of women in STEM.

The Leif Erikson Lunar Prize finds its recipient in the Indian Space Research Organisation, honored for the Chandrayaan-3 mission. ISRO’s successful soft landing near the Lunar South Pole marks a historic milestone, solidifying India’s position as the fourth nation to achieve this feat.

In this symphony of achievement, the 9th Leif Erikson Awards continue to illuminate the trailblazers whose dedication to exploration propels humanity toward the stars.

See full press release

You may also like...