Dr. Huw Lewis-Jones awarded the Leif Erikson Exploration History Award


The Leif Erikson Exploration History Award
Awarded to a person or an organization that has worked to promote and preserve exploration history.

Huw Lewis-Jones

Huw Lewis-Jones

For his commitment to the history of exploration, polar guide Dr. Huw Lewis-Jones is awarded the Leif Erikson Exploration History Award. Author of many acclaimed books, his work has been published in more than a dozen languages. His heritage activity and writings on visual culture, photography and film, seafaring, mountaineering, and remote environments has earned his subjects wide international attention. His last book, Across the Arctic Ocean, is published by Thames & Hudson in London and New York.

The recipients of the 2015 Leif Erikson Exploration Awards were announced at a press conference in Husavik on November 11, 2015.

Learn about the other recipients here:
Leif Erikson Exploration Award: Harrison Schmitt (USA)
Leif Erikson Young Explorer Award: Jessica Watson (Australia)