2017 Explorers Festival

The Exploration Museum announces the third edition of the Explorers Festival, to be held in Húsavík in North Iceland from September 21 to 24. The festival consists of expeditions, workshops, a series of talks by explorers, art exhibitions, concerts, film screenings and outdoor activities.

Edurne Pasaban

Edurne Pasaban

The theme for this year is Fire and Ice.

Basque Spanish mountaineer Edurne Pasaban, who in 2010 became the first woman to climb all of the fourteen eight-thousanders in the world, will give the main talk. Her first eight-thousander was achieved 9 years earlier, in 2001, when she reached the summit of Mt. Everest, while the most challenging one was K2, the second highest mountain on Earth, summited in 2004.

Other talks will be given by British volcanologist Clive Oppenheimer, who, apart from being the co-director of Netflix documentary Into the Inferno, has done research on large eruptions of the past and their impacts on climate and society, by Italian explorer Alex Bellini, who is best known for his feats in covering long distances in extreme environments – such as the recent crossing of Vatnajökull glacier – and in particular for the solo ocean crossings on rowing boats, and by Chris Horsley, British photographer, who lived with tribes in Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu and who regularly takes part in expeditions to climb into active volcanoes all over the world.

During the festival, workshops on expedition planning, photography and exploration history will be open to participants. Special events dedicated to younger minds are scheduled too.

On June 1, the program of the 2017 Explorers Festival will be announced and, from the same day, the official website www.explorersfest.com will be up and running. The website will contain complete and detailed information about the festival, the speakers and the events, apart from giving the public the opportuinty to book tickets for attending and taking part into the various events.

Isafold Travel’s jeep convoy

Once more, the Explorers Festival is co-hosted by Isafold Travel, that offers a trip on 4×4 vehicles from Reykjavík to Húsavík, crossing over the highlands for those who wish to arrive in grand style. The interior of Iceland is an untamed and constantly wind-beaten area full of glaciers, jagged peaks, volcanoes. At the end of the festival, the jeep convoy will then head back to Reykjavík, again over the highlands for more adventure.
For information about this special trip, please contact: info@isafoldtravel.is

At the end of the festival, the winners of the 2017 Leif Erikson Exploration Awards will be announced. This is the third year that The Exploration Museum presents explorers with the awards, named after Icelandic explorer Leif Erikson who is considered by many the first European to land in North America and who, according to the Sagas of Icelanders, established the first Norse settlement at Vinland, tentatively identified with the Norse L’Anse aux Meadows on the northern tip of Newfoundland in modern-day Canada.

Babita Sharma

Babita Sharma

The host of the awards ceremony this year is BBC television presenter Babita Sharma:
“I’m thrilled to be part of this year’s Explorers Festival. I have travelled the world as a journalist and embarked on a few challenging assignments but I am in awe of explorers who excel at the most extreme of expeditions on a regular basis. As host of The Exploration Awards, it’s a privilege to showcase the achievements of those who push the boundaries of human endurance and exploration.”

The Leif Erikson Exploration Awards are awarded in three categories – to an explorer for a lifetime achievement in exploration; to a young explorer under the age of 30 for achievements in exploration; and to a person or an organization that has worked to promote and preserve exploration history. Previous winners include Apollo astronaut and Moon walker Harrison Schmitt, Australian sailor Jessica Watson, British historian Huw Lewis-Jones, the Indian mountaineers Malik twins, the Crew of Harald Harfagre from Norway, and American astronaut Scott Parazynski.